Many of our students decide to apply to receive Florida State Concealed Carry Permits. The permit from Florida is relatively easy to obtain and shows that you have more training and experience when you apply for the New York License. Below you will find answers to frequently asked questions about the Florida permit and application process.
What training is required to apply for the permit?
Florida law requires that you take both a classroom and on range course that includes live firing of a weapon. Our standard “Multi-State” class qualifies for the Florida classroom requirement. All our instructors meet the Florida qualifications to teach the class.
How old must I be to apply?
Florida State Law Requires that applicants be at least 21 years of age.
What Would Make Me Not Eligible to Obtain the Permit?
Please note that you will not be eligible for a license if you are a felon, been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces, have been adjudicated mentally defective, are younger than 20 years old, under arrest or currently charged with a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year, been found guilty of crimes of domestic violence, or have a recent alcohol related arrest, including DWI/DWAI. You can also take this Preliminary Eligibility Online Questionnaire to confirm.
Do I Need to Submit Fingerprints?
Yes you do and only fingerprints obtained from a Florida division office or a law enforcement agency will qualify. The state of Florida does charge a fee to run your fingerprints and that fee of is included in the total application fee.
How long will I have to wait to receive my permit?
It varies based on how you turn in your application. We recommend our students mail their applications to a Division Regional Office. Regardless wait time can vary between 6 weeks and 6 months.
How long is the class?
We schedule our classes for a 4 hour period. Classes can often go as long as 4 1/2 hours. Class time can vary depending on the size of the class, number of questions, etc. The follow up live fire exercise for the Florida permit is scheduled separately. Contact us for more details.
Do I have to shoot a firearm for this class?
Range Time firing of a weapon is required for this permit. Beware of instructors in New York who present you with a class that qualifies for the Florida permit and doesn’t include any live fire range time. It is required.
What if I am not a Florida Resident or don’t have a Florida Driver’s License?
A Florida concealed carry permit is available to residents from ANY state.
Must I register my firearm when I receive my permit?
No, Firearms are not registered in Florida.
What forms of payment will NewYorkFirearmTraining.com accept?
Cash, check, or credit card (Visa, or MasterCard). We prefer if you pay with a credit card via our website or over the phone with someone in our office. This prevents our instructors from having to collect/carry cash or checks.