Many of our students decide to apply to receive a New York State Concealed Carry Permit. This permit is more complex than most state permits. Please read all the questions below.
Is New York a “Must Issue” State?
No. New York licensing jurisdictions may chose to issue you a permit or not. This has set a precedent over time that makes each person’s chances of receiving a license vary based on where they live. Of the fifty-nine (59) licensing jurisdictions, fifty-five (55) issue pistol licenses through the courts with a judge serving as the licensing officer. Background investigations however are conducted by the local law enforcement agencies. The remaining jurisdictions, New York City (NYPD), Nassau and Suffolk Counties have licensing officers that are either Police Commissioners or a Sheriff. New Law passed 1/15/13 makes all licenses valid for a max of 5 years. How NY is going to handle when a lifetime permit expires is not clear at this time.
Where Would My Permit Be Valid in New York?
Your New York State pistol license is only valid in the counties outside the 5 counties of New York City unless it is validated by New York City. You may not take your handguns into the city, this includes Self Protection licensees, with a few exceptions.
How old must I be to apply?
New York State Law Requires that applicants be at least 21 years of age or be honorable discharged from military service.
What Restrictions May Be Part of My New York Gun License?
New York issues several different types of licenses that allow specific ownership and carrying of a firearm. There are permits only issued for Bank Managers and others for people who own/collect Antique pistols. Only retired law enforcement and “Unrestricted” licenses are full carry.
What Would Make Me Not Eligible to Obtain the Permit?
Please note that you will not be eligible for a license if you are a felon, been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces, have been adjudicated mentally defective, are younger than 20 years old, under arrest or currently charged with a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year, been found guilty of crimes of domestic violence, or have a alcohol related arrest, including DWI/DWAI. You are also deemed eligible or not eligible by the licensing jurisdiction (judge, sheriff, etc).
What Class/Training Do I Have to Take to Apply?
In New York, the training requirements vary by county to obtain a handgun license.
What if I am not a New York Resident or don’t have a New York Driver’s License?
The code says that one must apply in the licensing jurisdiction in which they live or own a business. If you live in New York but aren’t a legal resident we suggest you take our Multi-State class and discuss your plans with our instructor.
What forms of payment will NewYorkFirearmTraining.com accept?
Cash, check, or credit card (Visa, or MasterCard). We prefer if you pay with a credit card via our website or over the phone with someone in our office. This prevents our instructors from having to collect/carry cash or checks.